Kansas Energy Council
The Kansas Energy Council was dissolved by Governor Sebelius on December 31, 2008, in Executive Order 08-13.

Greenhouse Gas Policy Committee

As one of its planning priorities in 2008, the KEC agreed to examine the agreements adopted by the Midwestern Governor's Association (MGA) in November 2007, including the Midwestern Greenhouse Gas Accord. Accordingly, the MGA Committee was established in January 2008. However, because the underlying policy issue is the regulation of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, the Committee has been renamed the Greenhouse Gas Policy Committee.

The objectives of this Committee included an examination and discussion of the policy options available for controlling GHG emissions as well as the appropriate scope of various policy approaches. The committee met 5 times from January to June 2008.

All KEC meetings are open to the public.


Bruce Snead, Chair
Rex Buchanan
Dave Dayvault
Sarah Dean
Joe Dick
Ken Frahm
Mike Kelley
Jeff Kennedy
David Kerr
Greg Krissek
Galen Menard
Hans Nettelblad
Adrian Polanksy
Curt Wright


Tuesday, January 15, 2008, 9:00 a.m. to noon, First Floor Hearing Room, Kansas Corporation Commission, Topeka.

Thursday, February 21, 2008, 9:00 a.m. to noon, Kansas Department of Transportation, Eisenhower Building, Auditorium A, 700 SW Harrison, Topeka.

Wednesday, April 9, 2008, 9:00 a.m. to noon, First Floor Hearing Room, Kansas Corporation Commission, Topeka.

Wednesday, May 13, 2008, 1:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., Rooms 147 and 148, SRS Regional Office, 500 SW Van Buren, Topeka.

Thursday, July 18, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Auditorium A, Eisenhower Building, 700 SW Harrison, Topeka.


The resources listed below contain background information related to climate change policy (see KEC staff annotated summary for synopsis of these resources). Although most of the reports were prepared by reasonably objective sources (e.g., governmental or educational institutions), the list also contains a couple of reports prepared by advocacy groups that may be viewed as less objective.

Home | Planning Schedule | Kansas Energy Report | Chart Book | Meetings | Committees | Council Members | Public Comment | Reports